the next chapter

IMG_2686

     I am 22 years old, and I am writing this from my mother’s basement.  I’m not sure why it’s always referred to as “mother’s basement…” but that’s another blog post.  Can I just state the obvious and say that this is not where I thought I would be in life five years ago?  Forget five years ago, this isn’t where I thought I would be eight months ago.  It is so hard to balance being content in the Lord and yet still be eager and ready for the next stage of life.  The reality is that I have at least two years of seminary left before I even think of moving out.  Two more years.  It seems like forever, but if I’ve learned anything in life it’s that time keeps marching on… these next two years are going to go by fast.

     In light of that, here are my goals for the next five years: (not in any particular order)

  • Start mountaineering. (I want to climb up a mountain! Ice axe and crampons and all!)
  • Learn Greek. (This will take an act of God.)
  • Move out. (And everyone said, “Amen.”)
  • Get into the phD program at University of Edinburgh.
  • Am I allowed to say get married? (No shame…)
  • Start pastoring a local church.
  • See Coldplay live.
  • Get coffee with Josh Garrels. (It WILL happen!)
  • Start writing regularly.
  • Spend more time with my nephews.
  • Be more kind, gentle, loving, compassionate.

     I think this is a good starting point.  Will you join me in prayer now?  I really do believe that God has life changing plans for us!  God, thank you for who you are.  That you have invited me into your story.  That you’ve given me a part to play.  I ask that I would be so sensitive of your Spirit, that I might walk in all that you have for me in the years to come! In Jesus name, Amen!

-Michael

